Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Storage location and size of the safe

Now enter where the safe should be stored and what size it should be.

Note: The safe is actually a protected file that works like a hard drive partition when it is open, i.e. you use Storage location to create a safe file in a location of your choice on the hard disk. Your data is encrypted and saved there. If you open the safe and work with it, you can still edit, delete, copy and move files and directories in it as with a normal hard disk or hard drive partition.

Storage location

Please select the data medium (e.g. local data medium (C:)) on which the safe should be created.

Note : Safes created in a protected directory are only visible on your computer if the G DATA software has been installed on your computer. If you need to uninstall the software, the data safes that have been created will no longer be visible.

Safe size

Then select a safe size by positioning the slide control as appropriate. You then have as much space as remains available in the storage location you have chosen. However, there should generally be at least 2 GB more than the maximum size available so your computer is not slowed down in other areas due to lack of storage space.

Note : The button to the left of the slide control for the safe size gives you the option of fast selection. You can use this to e.g. define the size of the safe precisely or make it the right size for burning onto a CD, DVD or Blu-ray if necessary.

Now click on the  NEXT  button.

Safe parameters

In this dialogue window you can make the following entries and settings:

  • Safe designation: The name under which the safe is managed by the G DATA software.
  • Description: an additional short description that contains e.g. information on the safe contents.
  • File system: here you can define whether the virtual drive creating the safe uses the FAT or NTFS file system. Generally you should leave the entry here as Automatic selection.
  • Automatically select safe drive: the safe is displayed on your computer like a hard disk drive. You can either allocate a fixed drive designation letter for the safe or let the system select one automatically. Automatic selection is generally recommended here.
  • Assign drive: this option is only available to you if you are not letting the software automatically select the safe drive.

Now click on the NEXT button.

Safe access

Here you can allocate a password for a safe. Click on the ADD button.

Now enter the password you want in the dialog box that appears under Password and Repeat password. The password is only accepted if both entries are identical. This is intended to prevent you from e.g. making a mistake that you cannot reproduce when allocating a password.

Click on ADD to activate the password.



Note: When creating a safe you can allocate a number of different passwords and use them to define different authorizations. For example, you can create a safe where you can read and change files, but other people using another password only have the option of reading the contents of this safe, not amending them.

If you then select this password and click on the Authorization button, you have the following settings options:

  • Execute Autostart: Every safe contains a directory called Autostart. If this option remains set to Yes, all executable files located there will be automatically started when the safe is opened.
  • Open in "Read only" mode: A user who logs on using the read only access method will not be able to save or change files stored in the safe. He/she can only read it.
  • Open as removable medium: The G DATA software opens file safes in Explorer as local hard disks. Check this option if you want the safe to be displayed as a removable data carrier in the system.
  • Shared usage: Selecting this option enables shared use of the safe directory for other computers in the network. Alert: With this setting you can access the safe without needing to enter a password. At this point we recommend you think carefully about shared use of the safe. Shared usage of the safe for all network participants does not make sense at this point because the data would be accessible to everyone.
  • Close safe after user log off: This option should generally be enabled because, if the safe stays open after the user logs off, other users can see the contents of the safe.
  • Auto safe: All safes with this attribute can be opened with one command.

When you have finished configuring the settings, click NEXT.

Safe configuration

The safe creation wizard tells you about setting parameters in the last step. If you want to change these settings, please click the  BACK  button. If you are happy with the settings, please click  CREATE .

The virtual and encrypted file safe is created on your computer's hard drive. By finally clicking on the FINISH  button the safe is created and can be opened directly if you want.

  • No labels