During the virus check, you have different options for dealing with any viruses found. One option is to move the infected file to quarantine. Quarantine is a secure area in the software where infected files are encrypted and stored so they cannot transfer the virus to any other files.
If you click on this button, the quarantine area opens.Show quarantine:
The files in quarantine remain in the condition they were in when the G DATA software found them, and you can decide how to proceed.
- Refresh: If you have kept the quarantine dialogue window open for a long time, and have since discovered a virus and moved it into quarantine (e.g. automatically via the virus monitor), you can use this button to update the view.
- Allow from now on: If the behavior monitor has quarantined a file by accident, you can add it to the whitelist to prevent the behavior monitor from moving it to the quarantine in the future.
- Disinfect: In many cases, infected files can still be recovered. The software removes the virus components from the infected file and reconstructs the uninfected original file. If the disinfection is successful, the file is moved back to where it was saved before the virus check and is available to you again without any restrictions.
- Move back: Sometimes it is necessary to move an infected file that cannot be cleaned back out of quarantine to its original storage location. This may be for data recovery purposes for example. You should only select this function in exceptional cases and observe strict security measures (e.g. disconnect the computer from the network/Internet, back up uninfected data first etc).
- Delete: If you no longer require the infected file, you can simply delete it from quarantine.