Here you can restore your original files using saved backup data in the event of data loss. To do this, simply click on the RESTORE button.
A dialog now appears where all the saved backup processes for the relevant backup job are listed.
Select the backup you want here (e.g. the last backup run if you want to restore documents recently deleted by accident) and press the RESTORE button.
You now have the option of defining what type of restore you want:
- Restore full backup: All files and folders backed up by this backup are restored.
- Only restore selected partitions/files: Here you can see a directory view of your backup, where you can specifically select which files, folders or partitions you want to restore and which you do not. In the directory tree, you can open and select directories by clicking on the plus symbols. Their contents will then be shown in the file view. Each directory or file that you mark with a check will be restored from the backup. If not all files in a directory are checked, this directory is marked with a grey checkmark.
Finally you can specify whether the files should be restored in their original directories or not. If the files should be saved somewhere else, you can if necessary select a folder under NEW FOLDER where they will be stored. Under Password enter the access password if you have compressed your data backups as password protected files when you saved them.
If you restore files to the original directories, you have the following options for only retrieving files that have changed:
- always overwrite: In this setting, the files from the data backup are always seen as more important than the data that is still in the original directory. If you set a checkmark here, any data that may remain is completely overwritten by the data in the archive.
- if size has changed: With this setting, existing data in the original directory is only overwritten if the original file has been changed. Files where the size remains unchanged are skipped. In this way the data restore might run more quickly.
- if the time "Modified on" in the archive is more recent: Here, files in the original directory are always replaced with copies from the archive if they are newer than the data in the archive. This may also speed up the data restore because it can ensure that only changed data rather than all files have to be restored.
- if the time "Modified on" has changed: Here, the data in the original directory is always replaced if the modification date has changed compared to the archived files.
Now finish by clicking on the END PROCEDURE button to run the restore according to your specifications.